324 E Wisconsin Ave, # 1111, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Call Now for your Free Consultation


Hayes & Rothstein

What is the penalty for driving a vehicle without an interlock when ordered due to owi? Is it a felony?

Question:  Ordered interlock for two years but what if i get caught driving without one?

Answer:  Sections 347.413(1) and 347.50(1s) provide for imprisonment for not more than 6 months and a fine of between $150 and $600, plus costs, for a first offense. Section 347.50 (1t) extends by six months the IID period. If you are operating a Class D vehicle without an IID this means that you are operating while your privilege is revoked (occupational or regular license requires functioning IID during IID period) so you will also be subject under Section 343.44(2)(ar) 2 to penalties for an OAR occurring during an OWI revocation: imprisonment for not more than one year and a fine of not more than $2,500. Section 343.30(1g)(a) provides for a up to a six month suspension of operating privileges. If the OWI revocation and the OAR suspension occur within one year of each other you will not be eligible for an occupational license.

Find out more about Ignition Interlock Devices

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.